This movie really made me thing about type in a new way. Type is a form of expression. It says something to the viewer of a poster, magazine, newspaper, etc. I never really understood why designers really cared that much about type, but now I see for them it is about stating what they believe in.

Personally, I am not really sure what side I fall on, pro Helvetica or against Helvetica. The designers who are all for Helvetica make a good argument foe why they use it and why the typeface is so versatile. On the other side it is interesting to hear from the people who see that not using Helvetica is a rebellious statement. The comment that stuck with me after the movie was ” Helvetica is like the Government, like the Vietnam war.” I can see where she was coming from when she said that because Helvetica really has become generalized and sterile¬†over the last 50 years.

So all and all, I really liked the movie and I thought it was incredibly interesting and powerful.

